List of Buddhist Lists

Buddhism is famous for lists. One entire Nikaya, the Anguttara Nikaya is entirely a book of lists. I thought it might be useful to have a list of lists that doesn’t merely repeat the handful that everyone has heard a thousand times, but is also interlinked in ways that show how each teaching interpenetrates all the others. So here is a Buddhist list of lists with suttas to describe each. Have a look at let me know what other lists you’d like to see added.

https://workflowy.com/s/haXUqCl7mQ

8 thoughts on “List of Buddhist Lists

  1. I contemplate the five remembrances (Upajjhatthana Sutta)  frequently: I am of the nature of becoming old; I cannot avoid aging.I am of the nature of to become ill; I cannot avoid becoming ill.I am of the nature to die; I cannot avoid dying. I am the owner of my actions, heir to my actions; Whatever actions I do, good or bad, of these I become the heir. 

      1. I like how the five aggregates are referred to as the 5 heaps. Like they aren’t something special enough to arrange in an orderly fashion, or that they aren’t to be viewed as special. Funny thing is, they comprise the whole of experience, so if you follow the logic you can simply make one gigantic heap of it all. The whole shabang is just one big heap… nothing special 🙃

Leave a Reply

