Rain

Another collection of short poems from the Theragatha. Each of these little poems is in a series and all are connected to rain. As spring approaches, it seemed like the right image to have in mind.

My little hut is safe and homey,
Protected from the storm.
So rain all you want, sky.
Mind mind is peaceful and free.
I practice diligently. So rain!

1.1 Subhūti, Theragatha

Rain falls from the sky like sweet music,
But my little hut is safe and homey,
Protected from the storm.
My mind is peaceful in meditation,
So rain all you want, sky.

1.51 ­Godhi­ka, Theragatha

Rain falls from the sky like sweet music,
But my little hut is safe and homey,
Protected from the storm.
My mind is peaceful and quiet in this body,
So rain all you want, sky.

1.52 Subāhu, Theragatha

Rain falls from the sky like sweet music,
But my little hut is safe and homey,
Protected from the storm.
I dwell here, observant.
So rain all you want, sky.

1.53 Valli­ya, Theragatha

Rain falls from the sky like sweet music,
But my little hut is safe and homey,
Protected from the storm.
I abide here, alone.
So rain all you want, sky.

1.54 Utti­ya, Theragatha

The rain falls,
The wind blows,
And the lightning flashes.
But my mind is still.
I am peaceful in meditation.

1.50 Vimala, Theragatha

Leave a Reply

