I Wrote This Post

In this post I opined how annoying it is to hear (good, well-intentioned) Buddhists bend over backward to avoid saying, “I did this” or “This is mine.” It is a verbal tick! Not true insight. But in the the previous post I failed to site any suttas to that effect. Here is a perfect example. In this sutta a deva is asking the Buddha a series of questions:

 

[The Deva:] “If a bhikkhu is an arahant,

Consummate, with taints destroyed,

One who bears his final body,

Would he still say, ‘I speak’?

And would he still say, ‘They speak to me’?

 

[The Buddha:] “If a bhikkhu is an arahant,

Consummate, with taints destroyed,

One who bears his final body,

He might still say, ‘I speak,’

And he might say, ‘They speak to me.’

Skilful, knowing the world’s parlance,

He uses such terms as mere expressions.’”

 –AN 25(5), translation by Bhikkhu Bodhi

Leave a Reply

