Unburdened with Duties (Metta Sutta #7)

This is a part of a series going line by line from the Metta Sutta. It starts here.

Unburdened with duties

The Buddhist path calls on us to give up our busyness. This is not a small thing! I use Google Tasks to keep track of all the things I should be working on at home and at work. I also am a board member and webmaster for the local Buddhist Center. I am an active classical composer. I have never had fewer than 25 items on my to do list, and sometimes it tops 300. I sometimes fight the list down only to have it balloon back up at the beginning of a semester. Needless to say “unburdened by duties” is one of the teachings that I find most challenging.

Remember, the idea is not to make our busy lives less of a burden using meditation, or something like that. The idea is to abandon, to sacrifice some of the activities we’d really like to do to devote ourselves to practice, and simply to develop peace and tranquility by NOT doing.

The next article in this series is here.

Leave a Reply

