What does it mean?
Non-returner. A person who has abandoned the five lower fetters that bind the mind to the cycle of rebirth (see saṃyojana), and who after death will appear in one of the Brahma worlds called the Pure Abodes, there to attain nibbāna, never again to return to this world.

-from Access to Insight

Why does it matter?
Here’s a topic that doesn’t come up too often in Intro to Buddhism courses down at the local meditation center!

One of the tenants of Pure Land Buddhism is that Buddhism has degenerated to the point that it is no longer possible for ordinary people to hope to become enlightened. Our best shot is being reborn in a heavenly realm, where the future Buddha Amitaba can teach us directly and lead us to enlightenment. From the Theravada perspective it sounds a little looney, but the seeds of that idea are right there in the early texts.

The Buddha taught a Gradual Training, and part of that gradual training was a series of accomplishments that one could attain leading to enlightenment:  Sotāpanna, Sakadāgāmī, Anāgāmī and Arahat.

An ordinary person is a pathujjana. This includes everyone from mass murderers up through dedicated Buddhists that still struggle with doubt.

Sotāpanna is Stream Entry, the first stage.Stream Entry is actually no small thing. It means that someone now has total faith in the Buddhist practice, and will never fall away from the practice, no matter how often they are reborn. The great Buddhist scholar Buddhaghosa ended his magisterial commentary the Visuddhimagga by wishing that it would help lead him to Stream Entry! It also means that one will be reborn at most 7 times, and each rebirth will be either as a human or in heaven.

The next stage, Sakadāgāmī, means that a person will reborn at most once as a human, though they might be reborn again in heaven. Anāgāmīs can only be reborn in heaven, the Pure Abodes. They will never be reborn as a human or lower. Anathapindika was a famous Anāgāmī. And Arahat is of course a fully enlightened being, with enlightenment equal to the Buddha himself.

Here’s a question that is sometimes batted around by people interested in this kind of thing: Did the Buddha go through this progression, or just jump right to arahat?


2 thoughts on “Anāgāmī

  1. Well…hmmm.
    Technically there wasn’t anything called “the buddhist practice” when the buddha was first searching.
    I remember reading that after buddha became enlightened, he decided to remain in this word and help others find their way.
    This means (figuratively speaking) that after he was enlightened, he was walking with one foot in the pure abodes (heaven), and one foot in the human world. Basically still in this world, but not of it.
    Which puts the Buddha in all of the categories you mentioned above, and totally negates the need for categorization.
    ***I was raised Catholic, so if I am wrong about any of this…..feel free to correct me. 😉

    1. Thanks so much for your comments! It’s great to be able to reach out and communicate with folks this way!

      It’s of course true that there wasn’t a Buddhist practice until he established it, but after his enlightenment he was definitely an arahat. The only mystery is whether he had to go through the earlier steps first. I have no idea!

      The Buddha didn’t choose to remain in the world. He just lived out his remaining natural years. What he chose was to teach. At first he thought that his enlightenment was so profound that nobody else would be able to see it. But finally he decided (was convinced) to give it a try. There are Buddhas that choose not to teach.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s